Cloths-paper-scissors

Solo exhibition
Graphics, text, animation, site specific installation
Space «Intimate place», St. Petersburg, 2015
+
Exhibition «The shape of the unseen», Shop of the Red, Winzavod Centre for Contemporary Art, Moscow, 2016

I wanted to tell my personal story and dissolve it in environment, since the border between life and art is unstable or often completely absent. The «Intimate place» is an apartment, and I tried to treat the space with care, without redesigning it: people lived inside the installation. It turned out to be a story about the research on accidents in my life and how they transformed into something conscious: an activity, art, a way of life.

The series of graphics «Spots» present carefully copied spots from clothes, linen and fabrics. What seemingly harms a garment and happens due to carelessness, turns out to be perfect and amazing after a careful study. Thus, a random spot now seems to be something else - a lake on a map, a perfect shape.

Texts-memories tell funny stories from my childhood, which now surprisingly rhyme with my artistic practices. A cloth with the cut silhouettes of lakes as if visually continues these texts and serves as a screen for animation. Graphic shots from it surrounded the entire space of the apartment. At first glance, the drawings looked exactly the same, but only when they are put in a cartoon sequence, it becomes clear how much movement they hide.

Images and shapes of the installation flowed into each other, as if answering the question about the role of accidents in life: they form a single stream with life, and they constitute its beauty, which lies in the fact that we always fail to analyze it to the end.

1/9
1/10
001
002
003
004
005
006
007
008
009

Ткани-ножницы-бумага

Персональная выставка

Графика, текст, анимация, site specific инсталляция, 2015
Пространство «Интимное место», Санкт-Петербург, 2015
+
Выставка «Форма незримого», Цех красного, Винзавод, Москва, 2016

Мне хотелось рассказать свою личную историю, растворив её в среде, так как граница между жизнью и искусством очень подвижна и часто совсем отсутствует. «Интимное место» – это квартира, и я старалась обращаться с пространством бережно, не перекраивая его: внутри инсталляции жили люди. Получилась история об исследовании случайностей в моей жизни и того, как они преобразуются в нечто осознанное: в занятие, в искусство, в образ жизни. 

 

Серия графики «Пятна» — это внимательно перерисованные пятна с одежды, белья и тканей. То, что, казалось бы, портит вещь и случается в результате неосторожности, оказывается совершенным и удивительным при внимательном изучении. И случайное пятно уже кажется чем-то другим – озером на карте, совершенной формой. 

 

Тексты-воспоминания рассказывают о забавных случаях из детства, которые сейчас удивительным образом рифмуются с моими художественными практиками. Ткань с прорезанными силуэтами озёр как будто визуально продолжает эти тексты, и одновременно служит экраном для анимации. Всё пространство квартиры по периметру было опоясано графическими кадрами из неё. На первый взгляд, рисунки совершенно одинаковы, но только когда они собраны в мультипликационную последовательность, становится видно, как много в них скрытого движения. 

 

Образы и формы инсталляции перетекали друг в друга, как бы отвечая на вопрос о роли случайностей в жизни: они составляют с ней единый поток, и в этом и есть её красота. В том, что мы не можем проанализировать её до конца.

1/9
1/10
001
002
003
004
005
006
007
008
009