top of page

Defense

Solo exhibition
Graphics, embroidery, animation, text, objects, 2014-2018
Nabokov’s Museum, St. Petersburg, 2018
Andrey Shabanov curated the project

«Defense» is a series of tabletop exhibitions inspired by Vladimir Nabokov’s novel under the same name. The project was carried out jointly by the «WEST-EASTERN DIWAN» (WöD) Grafikkabinett and the Nabokov Museum. All exhibitions of this series used the large cabinet table in the museum's hall.

 

My project was a one-day exhibition-game on the museum table. The table is located in the last hall of the museum surrounded by photographs with houses, in which the writer lived with his family in different years. Under the glass on the table, I put a drawing of a large house with lit windows and dice on top of it. The house, the light in the windows, the table with drawers symbolize mystery, the impossibility to fully know the other and oneself. Something undiscovered will always remain.

 

Each visitor could roll the dice only 6 times according to the number of drawers in the table. The dice determined the viewing sequence. If a player got the same numbers, then some of the six drawers were closed for him. Each drawer had its own meaning: drawer No. 1 - "road", No. 2 - "room", No. 3 - "voice", No. 4 - "prayer", No. 5 - "time", No. 6 - "dance". These are my own artistic practices and methods of defense against chaos.

 

Luzhin, the hero of Nabokov's novel, is gradually driven mad by endless chess combinations. Likewise, I am often exhausted by the search for accurate images in a variety of options. Sometimes, it is hard to stop this chariot and play of mind, hard to choose one thing, to make a move. Thus, a chess player is in a sense very similar to an artist.

1/1
bottom of page

Защита Лужина

Персональная выставка

Графика, вышивка, анимация, текст, объекты, 2014-2018
Музей Набокова, Санкт-Петербург, 2018
Курировал проект Андрей Шабанов

«Защита Лужина» – серия настольных выставок, вдохновлённая одноимённым романом Владимира Набокова. Проект был осуществлён совместными усилиями кабинета графики «Западно-восточный диван» (WöD) и Музеем Набокова. Для всех выставок этой серии использовался большой кабинетный стол в выставочном зале музея.

Мой проект представлял собой однодневную выставку-игру в музейном столе. Стол находится в последнем зале музея, в окружении фотографий домов, в которых жил писатель со своей семьёй в разные годы. На поверхность стола, под стекло, я поместила рисунок большого дома с горящими окнами, а сверху – игральные кубики. Дом, свет в окнах, стол с ящиками – символы тайны, невозможности полностью узнать другого и себя. Всегда останется что-то неизвестное. 

Каждый зритель мог кинуть кубики всего 6 раз, по количеству ящиков в столе. Кубики в этой игре определяли последовательность просмотра. Если игроку выпадали одинаковые числа, значит какие-то из шести ящиков оказывались для него закрытыми. Каждый ящик имел своё значение: ящик №1 – «дорога», №2 – «комната», №3 – «голос», №4 – «молитва», №5 – «время», №6 – «танец».  Это – мои собственные художественные практики и способы защиты от хаоса.

 

Лужина, героя романа Набокова, постепенно сводят с ума бесконечные шахматные комбинации. Так и меня часто выматывают поиски точных образов во множестве вариантов. Эту колесницу, игру ума порой очень сложно остановить, выбрать что-то одно, сделать ход. Так, фигура шахматиста в каком-то смысле очень похожа на фигуру художника.

1/1