«I’m fighting the urge to just stay at home»

Personal site-specific project
Graphics, video installation, painting, animation, 2015
Studio «Nepokorennye 17», St. Petersburg, 2015
Curator Natalia Karaseva

The name of the project is taken from my work emails with the curator. It emphasizes the conflict between two contradictory urges: to stop, take a break, plunge into solitude and a desire to be a part of the big world, to register its changes, to reflect, to come up with new events and projects. The life and work of an artist pass in a delicate balance of these urges, which are so difficult to satisfy simultaneously.

 

The exhibition followed my way to the studio, which became more valuable to me than the work itself. It turned out that this studio was just an excuse to take a daily walk and a place to reflect on what I saw. Therefore, this project is a statement about the process of movement, during which the elements of the surrounding world acquire weight and significance.

The exhibition occupied two floors and started with a two-channel video installation. The two animated projections were united by a common horizon - the silhouette of the houses around the studio building. The first projection was based on photographic observations of the clouds, and on the second - clouds were animated with the help of paintings on the glass. The screens had the same angle, and the clouds flew from the center to the viewer, creating an illusion of movement in space.


In the center of the room, against the projection, there was a table. As pieces of a large puzzle, there stood drawings, fragments of a panoramic landscape: high-rise apartment buildings, lampposts, birds, grey clouds. While sitting at the table and looking into the drawings, a viewer was temporarily included into the installation space.

Further, in a long corridor on the way to the studios, I made a series of drawings on the window panes - a sort of a graphical diary of the clouds’ movement indicating the time and date of my observation. Perception of these drawings changed within a day depending on the sunlight. Following the diary, viewers entered my studio. There was a painting from the «Roadway» series, which depicted interchanges and traffic flows.

The exposition ended with a graphic animation of a moving cloud. The projection imitating a window was directed at a tiny hole in the wall, * through which one could see a piece of the landscape.


 

____________________________________
* The hole was made by the artist Alyona Tereshko, with whom I shared this studio. When the light is off, it turned the studio into a camera obscura, and a projection of the surrounding landscape would appear on the walls.

1/1
1/1
1/1
1/10
1/12
1/7

Борюсь с желанием никуда не идти сегодня

Персональный site-specific проект
Графика, видеоинсталляция, живопись, анимация, 2015
Студия «Непокорённые 17», Санкт-Петербург, 2015
Курировала Наталья Карасёва

Название проекта взято из рабочей переписки с куратором. Оно отражает конфликт между двумя разнонаправленными желаниями: остановиться, взять паузу, погрузиться в уединение и желанием стать частью большого мира, фиксировать его изменения, осмыслять, придумывать новые события и проекты. Жизнь и работа художника – хрупкий баланс этих потребностей, которые так сложно удовлетворить одновременно.

 

Выставка повторяла мой путь до мастерской, который стал для меня более ценным, чем сама работа в ней. Оказалось, что эта мастерская – просто повод совершать ежедневную прогулку и место осмысления увиденного. Поэтому этот проект –  высказывание о процессе движения, в протяженности которого элементы окружающего мира приобретают вес и значение. 


Выставка располагалась на двух этажах и начиналась с двухканальной видеоинсталляции. Две анимационные проекции были объединены общим горизонтом – силуэтом домов, окружающих здание студии. Первая из них была создана на основе фотонаблюдений за облаками, а во второй – они были анимированы с помощью живописи на стекле. Экраны соединялись углом, а облака разлетались от центра к зрителю, создавая иллюзию движения в пространстве.

 

В центре зала, на фоне проекции стоял стол. На нём, как частички большого пазла, располагались рисунки, фрагменты панорамного пейзажа: многоэтажки, фонарные столбы, пролетающие птицы, серые облака. Сидя за столом и рассматривая рисунки, зритель на время оказывался включен в пространство инсталляции. 

 

Далее, в длинном коридоре по пути в мастерские, я сделала серию рисунков на оконных стёклах – своеобразный графический дневник движения облаков с указанием времени и даты наблюдения. Восприятие рисунков менялось в течение дня, в зависимости от солнечного света. Следуя за дневником, зритель приходил в мою мастерскую. Там была показана живопись из серии «Проезжая часть», которая фиксировала транспортные развязки и потоки машин. 

 

Экспозиция завершалась графической анимацией движущегося облака. Проекция, имитирующая окно, была направлена на крохотное сквозное отверстие в стене*, через которое был виден кусочек пейзажа. 

 

____________________________________

* Отверстие сделано художницей Алёной Терешко, с которой я делила эту мастерскую. Когда свет выключен, оно превращает мастерскую в camera obscura, и на стене появляется проекция окружающего пейзажа.

1/1
1/1
1/1
1/10
1/12
1/7