top of page

Hidden seams

Solo exhibition
Graphics, embroidery, textiles, animation, 2016
Name Gallery, St. Petersburg, 2016
Ekaterina Andreeva curated the exhibition
+
Exhibition «Nepokorennye Prospect», Moscow Museum of Modern Art, Moscow, 2017
Anastasia Skvortsova and Anastasia Shavlokhova curated the exhibition
+
«Tekstile Perspektiver» Exhibition, Terminal B, Kirkines, Norway, 2019
The Pikene pa Broen team curated the exhibition

«Hidden Seams» tells the story of my family in the language of natural and spatial metaphors. My family like many others for economic and social reasons was closely connected to agriculture and horticulture : in difficult and transitional years, a piece of land fed us almost all year round. The cycles of nature - its blooming, drooping and rebirth - have always influenced our way of life. The seasons and elements of nature in this project are sewn into the events from my family life and are inextricably linked to them.


The exhibition was structured in a circle and it developed clockwise: it started with autumn and looped at the end. The curtains on the windows, «Soft protectors», are named after the months and represent someone from the family - they separate the street from the house and play with the light. Funny potato tubers remind of teamwork and harvesting. The annual cycle ends with a month of warmth and parting in August and the embroidered Sun - the reason of the whole cycle.


The exhibition loops itself and starts a new annual circle, where it already tells my story, which naturally follows the previous one. A series of embroideries-rooms connected to each other by entrances and exits invites to the artist’s mental space. I wanted to be as sincere in my story as possible, but at the same time to omit the details, to bring my story to a universal level. «Hidden seams» is a reflection on the close ties of individuality and its family history, on a person as a part of nature and an element in the large world order.

1/1
1/2
1/8
1/1
1/2
1/2
1/5
1/6
1/2
1/1
1/1
1/1
IMG_E0322.png
bottom of page

Потайные швы

Персональная выставка
Графика, вышивка, текстиль, анимация, 2016

Name Gallery, Санкт-Петербург, 2016
Курировала выставку Екатерина Андреева
+
Выставка «Проспект Непокорённых», Московский музей современного искусства, Москва, 2017
Курировали выставку Анастасия Скворцова и Анастасия Шавлохова
+
Выставка Tekstile Perspektiver, Терминал Б, Киркинес, Норвегия, 2019

Выставку курировала команда Pikene pa Broen

«Потайные швы» – это история моей семьи, рассказанная языком природных и пространственных метафор. Моя семья, как и многие другие, в силу экономических и социальных причин, была тесно связана с земледелием и огородничеством: в сложные и переходные годы участок земли кормил нас почти весь год. Цикличность природы – её цветение, засыпание и возрождение – всегда влияла на наш образ жизни. Времена года и элементы природы в этом проекте вшиты в  события из жизни моей семьи и неразрывно соединены с ними.

Выставка имела круговую структуру и развивалась по часовой стрелке: начиналась с осеннего периода и зацикливалась в конце. Шторы на окнах, «Мягкие защитники», названы именами месяцев и олицетворяют кого-то из членов семьи – они отделяют улицу от дома и играют с уличным светом. Смешные картофельные клубни напоминают о совместном труде и сборе урожая. Годичный цикл завершается месяцем тепла и расставаний, августом, и вышитым Солнцем – причиной всего круговорота. 

Выставка закольцовывается и начинает новый годичный круг, где рассказывает уже мою историю, естественно вытекающую из предыдущей. Серия вышивок-комнат, соединенных друг с другом входами и выходами, погружает в мыслительное пространство художника. Мне хотелось быть максимально искренней в своем рассказе, но в то же время избежать конкретики, вывести свою историю на универсальный уровень. «Потайные швы» – размышление о тесной связи индивидуальности с семейной историей, о человеке как частичке природы и элементе большого миропорядка.

1/1
1/2
1/8
1/1
1/2
1/2
1/5
1/6
1/2
1/1
1/1
1/1
IMG_E0322.png