top of page

Memory card

Graphics, walks, videos, 2015-2016

Exhibition «Brural: Crossroads of equality and irregularity», Temporary storage gallery, Brooklyn, New York, USA
Ilya Shipilovskikh curated the exhibition

The project consists of drawings mostly made blindly and videos of walks taken both with open and closed eyes. I opened my eyes for a split second, and then walked or ran until I completely lost orientation in space, or it was scary to move on blind.


I was wondering for how long an instant print in visual memory is enough for confident moving. In the process I followed my sensations: how confidence is replaced with vulnerability and a fear to stumble.


Alongside, I did a series of drawings with my eyes closed and in complete darkness. I mentally took all the routes that I recalled - from my walks to school to the current daily routes to my studio. I tried to restore all the details: turns, houses, signs. I tried to synchronize my hand with these walks, as if touching them with my hand and my mind's eye.


As I grew tired, I allowed my hand to move freely on the sheet. By touch, I switched tools so that the lines would not tangle into one knot. This is how the threads of the past, present and fictional routes intertwined.

1/5
bottom of page

Карта памяти

Графика, прогулки, видео, 2015-2016

Выставка Brural: crossroads of equality and irregularity, Temporary storage gallery, Бруклин, Нью-Йорк, США, 2016

Курировал выставку Илья Шипиловских

Проект состоит из рисунков, сделанных по большей части вслепую, а также видеозаписей прогулок, совершаемых в чередующемся состоянии открытых и закрытых глаз. Я открывала глаза на долю секунды, а потом шла или бежала до тех пор, пока полностью не теряла ориентацию в пространстве, или не становилось страшно двигаться дальше. 

Мне было интересно, на сколько хватает мгновенного отпечатка в зрительной памяти для уверенного движения. В процессе я следила за ощущениями: как уверенность сменяется беззащитностью и страхом оступиться.

Параллельно я делала серию рисунков с закрытыми глазами и в полной темноте. Я мысленно проходила все маршруты, которые вспоминались, – от походов в школу до текущих ежедневных путей в мастерскую. Я пыталась восстановить все детали: повороты, дома, вывески. Я старалась синхронизировать руку с этими прогулками, как бы ощупывая их рукой и мысленным взглядом. 

Устав, я позволяла руке свободно двигаться по листу. Наощупь, я меняла инструменты, чтобы линии не спутывались в один клубок. Так получились переплетённые нити прошлых, настоящих и вымышленных маршрутов.

1/5