Once upon a map

Solo exhibition, 2014
Graphics, text, video, photo albums, installation
PRO Arte Foundation, St. Petersburg, 2014
Curator Natalia Khvoenkova

The «Once upon a map» exhibition happened as an outcome of my residence in the Belgian village called Maasmechelen, where I spent a month and a half. The residence turned out to be like an art production factory. We were provided with accommodation, a shared studio and a scholarship of 250 euros per week. We had to work every day from 09.00 to 17.00 except Sundays. All the completed works remained there in order to be sold later. They monitored if we worked well and made conclusions about how economically beneficial it was to cooperate with us. This created tension: at any time an artist could be sent home if, for example, the work was going too slowly, or the director did not like the piece. In the evening, we returned home on a corporate bus and, being locked in an ideal Belgian village, talked endlessly about art and shared our stories with each other.

 

There was a rather sad atmosphere in the residence, which I immediately felt. Almost all the artists ended up there only because in the countries with undeveloped support for contemporary art it is very difficult to make a living with artwork. It was a kind of labor camp for artists from Russia, Croatia and Serbia with an opportunity to earn at least something, so that later, at home, they would make "real" art.


While working on my project, I began to take notes, make photographs and sketches of our inner life. I wanted to reflect the ambivalent atmosphere, in which we all found ourselves. A situation of compromise, in which artists agree to conditions that they don't quite like, which put them in a vulnerable position, but at the same time which provide them with the necessary minimum to keep working.


The exhibition was divided into three parts. The first par called the «Endless map» presented the fragments and photographs of the painting project that I completed at the residence. The second part «Studio» told about our joint work, about the everyday life in a collective workshop in the public view of our authorities. The third part «Home» contained quotes from our internal conversations, sketches and photographs. Full of bitter irony, they convey the atmosphere beyond the working process. For me, this residence has become an important experience of communication and work. There I realized that a situation itself can become a material and a trigger for an artist’s reflection, that it is important to maintain a critical perspective on things and not lose yourself.

Part 1 / Map

1/8

Part 2 / Studio

1/9

Part 3 / Home

1/14
7_edited.png

Однажды на карте

Персональная выставка, 2014
Графика, текст, видео, фотоальбомы, инсталляция

Фонд «ПРО Арте», Санкт-Петербург, 2014
Курировала Наталья Хвоенкова

Выставка «Однажды на карте» появилась в результате моей резиденции в бельгийской деревне Маасмехелен, где я провела полтора месяца. Резиденция оказалась своеобразной фабрикой по производству искусства. Нам предоставлялось жилье, общая мастерская и стипендия в 250 евро в неделю. Мы должны были работать каждый день с 09.00 до 17.00, кроме воскресенья. Все сделанные работы оставались там, с целью их последующей продажи. За нами наблюдали, хорошо ли мы работаем, и делали выводы о том, насколько экономически выгодно с нами сотрудничать. Это создавало напряжение: в любой момент художника могли отправить домой, если, например, работа шла слишком медленно, или работы не нравились директору. Вечером мы возвращались домой на корпоративном автобусе и, запертые в идеальной бельгийской деревушке, вели бесконечные разговоры об искусстве, делясь друг с другом своими историями. 

В резиденции царила довольно грустная атмосфера, я сразу это почувствовала. Почти все художники оказались там только потому, что в странах с неразвитой поддержкой современного искусства очень сложно зарабатывать на жизнь своим творчеством. Это был своеобразный трудовой лагерь для художников из России, Хорватии и Сербии, где была возможность хоть что-то заработать, чтобы потом, дома, создавать «настоящее» искусство.

Параллельно работе над своим проектом я стала делать заметки, фотографии и зарисовки нашей внутренней жизни. Мне хотелось отразить двойственную ситуацию, в которой мы все оказались. Ситуацию компромисса, когда художники соглашаются на условия, которые им не совсем нравятся, которые ставят их в уязвимое положение, но которые в то же время обеспечивают их необходимым минимумом, чтобы продолжать работать.

Выставка была разделена на три части. Первая часть «Бесконечная карта» – это следы и фотографии живописного проекта, над которым я работала в резиденции. Вторая часть «Студия» рассказывает о нашем совместном труде, о буднях в коллективной мастерской на виду у начальства. Третья часть «Дом» — это цитаты наших внутренних разговоров, зарисовки и фотографии. Полные горькой иронии, они отражают атмосферу, царящую вне работы. Для меня эта резиденция стала важным опытом общения и работы. Там я поняла, что ситуация сама по себе может стать материалом и поводом для размышления для художника, что важно сохранять критический взгляд на вещи и не терять себя.

Часть 1 / Карта

1/8

Часть 2 / Студия

1/9

Часть 3 / Дом

1/14
7_edited.png